What do you think about accountability within team leadership: Mentors and Parents

I am new to robotics competitions. So when my son wanted to join a team, I started researching. What I have found out, does not leave me with feelings of enthusiasm.

Maybe this isn’t the venue for this discussion, if it is not, please point me in the correct direction. I would like to share what I have seen and get feedback from the community here: is this NORMAL? Should we just avoid this endeavor?

This is a School Sponsored, Vex Over/Under team.

The Mentor(s) are volunteers, and are also a husband and wife team whose son is also on the team. There are no other coaches or staff.
They REFUSE to communicate with parents. ALL communication goes through the students. The students are freshman through senior.
Parents are barred from all practices, in any capacity. Silently observing in the wings is also discouraged.
Cuts can happen for any reason, at any time.
Parents with questions are encouraged to ask through the student. Contact between parents and coaches before or after practice is a distraction, and discouraged.
Coaches select who will go to events, no chaperones are asked for, none needed.
Volunteering is only on selected home event days, they will let you know.

I’ve spoken to the dean that is over this program, and that was ineffectual. Have you seen the meme with the dog in the burning house, “This is fine”? That is the most concise I can be about that interaction.

On the one hand, this is giving me the “Away. Run, don’t walk” vibe.
That same vibe has me worried for the other kids. Should I be? Is this normal? Are there no standards of oversight on the sport side?

What questions SHOULD I be asking? What are the standards or rules for Adult/Mentor Oversight among teams? Is there any Background checks, training, or similar that are mandated?

You’ll get more replies from adults on vexforum.com than you will here (this server is mostly students).

2 Likes