Set up question

Would this be a legal way to set a triball at the begining of the match?

1 Like

According to this picture in the manual, no.

“Figure 1: Top view of the field in its starting configuration, with highlighted Triballs (yellow), Red Alliance Goal (red), and Blue Alliance Goal (blue).”

I fail to see where it explicitly states this.

1 Like

Starting Configuration.

1 Like

As well as this in Appendix A:

1 Like

Now I see it. I didn’t see it the first time I read it. Thanks for pointing it out to me! I reread it multiple times and I can’t believe I missed it!

1 Like

I would consider the following Official Q&A with regards to repositioning of tri-ball in match load zone and legal positions:

Reading of both seems to indicate as long as tri-ball is repositioned such as touching foam tile in match zone adjacent to the robot starting position it is legal. Did I miss something saying it can not touch the bar? (way past my bed time to be sure.) <SG1> applies here - not diagrams in appendix.


OP didn’t determine if it was for setup before teams got there or for when the team can move them pre-match.
If the latter is what they were referencing then yes, you’d be correct.

At EP Summit a discussion about what to do about set up of field - e.g., do the tri-balls need to be in same orientation as appendix graphics, answer was “no” because impacted teams could adjust if needed. Speeds up field reset :slight_smile:

1 Like

:+1: Good to know!